Winners of the 6th Aurora Surfing Challenge of Baler

The Toxicity Of Surfing
February 9
Life’s Better in Boardshorts: free short film by Billabong
February 21
Show all

Winners of the 6th Aurora Surfing Challenge of Baler

finals at the reef: Judge’s deck at Cemento. photo by Jane Regala.

6th Aurora Surfing Challenge Results

O P E N division
Champion: Jefferson Dela Torre (Baler)
1st: Rommel “okoy” Rojo (Baler)
2nd: JR Esquivel (La Union)
3rd: Edito “piso” alcala (Siargao)

W A H I N E division
Champion: Nilvie Blancada (Siargao)
1st: Daisy Valdez (La Union)
2nd: Mickey Galang (La Union)
3rd: Aubrey Namoro (Baler)

G R O M M E T division
Champion: John Mark Tokong (Siargao)
1st: Neil Sanchez (Baler)
2nd: JR Ruina (Lanuza)
3rd: Jenard Fernandez (La Union)

Congratulations to all the winners of what is said to be a fine and exemplary surf competition organized by the Aurora Surf Riders Association, Inc. More power to Filipino surfers and to all those that make up the exciting world of Philippine surfing.

LokalSoul was not personally at the event (bummer) but we do have a correspondent and we have pictures of the event to be uploaded soon. Please watch out for that!


  1. […] lens capturing rad moments of the day’s session. Last month, Mark was able to be part of the Aurora Surfing Challenge and in today’s blog Mark is sharing his 10 favorite shots of the event. Check them […]

  2. […] batch of young Baler surfers. The “Classics”,well, they are still around holding local surf competitions and faithfully keeping watch of developments happening in their home […]

  3. mark jade mahinay says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *